Emergency & Enquiry

Surgical Emergency: 0817-658-1641
Medical Emergency: 0817-658-1642

Opening hours

Mon - Sun : 24hours Daily


Appreciating hardwork is one of the ways of encouraging excellence. This was exemplified when the management of the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH) held an award day in recognition of staff who attained Fellowships and won awards in the Part One and Two Fellowship examinations 2021 from the Medical Post Graduate Colleges, on Friday, July 30th, 2021.

The Chief Medical Director, Prof. Adetokunbo Fabamwo in his speech, said the idea of giving awards to health workers is to appreciate the feats achieved in being the best in their fields and by extension, doing the hospital proud. He promised that this recognition will be on a regular basis for all professionals in the hospital. Prof. Fabamwo congratulated the recipients and encouraged them to work harder to reach the apex of their careers.

The Director of Clinical Services and Training, Dr. Adebowale Adekoya, in the same vein congratulated the awardees and noted that staff welfare is a priority for the management of the hospital and this is one of the many ways by which deserving staff will be recognized going forward.

In response, Dr. Funsho Ahmad, one of the awardees, thanked the CMD and the entire LASUTH community for recognizing his colleagues. He noted that LASUTH resident doctors have no reason not to excel as they get the best teaching and input from their trainers. He promised to keep the flag flying anywhere he goes.

In the same vein, Dr. Temitope Fapohunda from the Department of Medicine, who bagged three awards at the fellowship examination, on behalf of her colleagues, appreciated the effort of their loved ones in helping them be their best. She was grateful for the support they all received from loved ones, and other colleagues at work.

Some of the recipients recognized and awarded include, Assistant Director Nursing Services, ADNS (Mrs.) Cecilia Ogundeko who became a pioneer Fellow of the West African College of Nursing, in LASUTH; Dr. Okechukwu Azuoro, Family Dentistry; Dr. Ajibola Salami, Dental Department; Dr. Olumuyiwa Osinubi, Surgery Department; Dr. Adeola Badmus, Surgery Department; Dr. Sa’ed Funsho Ahmad, Surgery Department; Dr. Akintayo Ogunjubohun, Anaesthesia Department; Dr. Olanrewaju Kelekun, Obstetrics & Gynaecology Department; Dr. Temitope Fapohunda, Medicine Department; Dr. Obe Oluwadamilare Afolabi, Microbiology Department; Dr. Cara Cookey, Medicine Department; Dr. Rafah Bamiro Anaesthesia Department; Dr. Okunuga Oluwaseun Oyeyemi, Medicine Department and Dr. Dennar Ibifuro, Anaesthesia Department.

LASUTH Management